The Time I Reviewed The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1

Every ninety years, twelve gods incarnate as humans. They are loved. They are hated. In two years, they are dead. The team behind critical tongue-attractors like Young Avengers and PHONOGRAM reunite to create a world where gods are the ultimate pop stars and pop stars are the ultimate gods. But remember: just because you’re immortal, doesn’t mean you’re going to live forever.

**A digital reading copy was provided to me via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review**

With a premise like that, who WOULDN’T be trying to get their hands on this book? It’s such a fascinating idea and one that I had never heard of before. Having gods walk on earth isn’t anything new, but only for two years? Every ninety years? WHY?!

The overall story of The Wicked + The Divine was quite interesting, but it didn’t blow me away. It’s told from the perspective of Laura, a college-age girl who is not part of the pantheon of gods. These gods are essentially pop icons and Laura is fascinated with them. She finds herself in their midst when she develops a connection with Luci (aka Lucifer). This is where I started seeing a few problems. First of all, I don’t know where this strong connection even came from. It started with a regular conversation and a few panels later, Laura was risking life and limb for Luci. In my eye, it wasn’t a major flaw (though this would have killed it for me if it were a regular YA novel). I just felt confused, like I was missing something.

The second problem I had with the story was with the pantheon itself. It took me a very long time to remember the gods individually, and it was pretty much impossible for me to keep them straight. And because I could barely remember who was who, I couldn’t keep track of what their personalities were supposed to be like. All the flipping around I had to do (going back and forth) definitely cut into my enjoyment of the book. Hopefully, this will resolve itself once I read the next few volumes and the characters (aka gods) become more entrenched in my mind.

My last, and quite minor, problem is that they never really address WHY things are the way they are. There is no explanation for why they are only on the earth for two years, or why they only incarnate every 90 years. Or even what their purpose is on Earth. I think their world is so interesting, I just wish I knew more of what was going on.

The art, however, was awesome. No complaints there. Now, I will be the first to admit that I know nothing about art. All I can say is whether I liked it or not. But this was just gorgeous. The cover that they went for with this volume does not do it justice. I really wish that they had picked something else even though this volume cover does represent the overall story pretty well.

A look at what could have been:

The Wicked + The Divine

The Wicked + The Divine, Issue 2

Overall, I really enjoyed this read. I will be eagerly awaiting the next installment especially because the first volume ended on a very important and exciting moment. Can’t wait to see what happens!

3.5 Stars

This review can also be found on Goodreads, Leafmarks and Shelfari.

Leave a Reply

