The Time I Thought About My Sins

Don’t worry, I mean my deadly READING sins!

It’s waaaay too early to get that personal.

I saw this tag on a friend’s blog (Ellen over at Quest Reviews), and thought it looked like too much fun to pass up.

Greed

What is your most inexpensive book? What is your most expensive book?

My most inexpensive book would probably be the one I sort of stole from my primary school library when I was about 12 (it’s bad I know!). It was one of my favorite books, and I checked it out all the time and I guess one time I just forgot to give it back… and then I moved. So I couldn’t really give it back. At least that’s what I tell myself to assuage some of the residual guilt. It’s The Legend of Lady Ilena by Patricia Malone.

I actually can’t think of my most expensive book. I know I haven’t purchased anything outrageously expensive yet. I do have my eye out on the Sandman Omnibus editions though. It typically retails for $150 each (though right now they are about $90 at Amazon). I WANT IT.

Wrath

What author do you have a love/hate relationship with?

Hands down, it has to be Maria V. Snyder. I LOVE her first book, Poison Study. She turned it into a series but I could barely get through the rest of her books. She recently announced that she will be adding three more books to the same series (bringing it to a total of six books). I’m cautiously optimistic. Like I mentioned, the first book was amazing, but the rest of her books pretty much sucked. So far, I’ve attributed Poison Study to beginner’s luck, but here’s hoping that she can change my mind!

Gluttony

What book have you devoured over and over with no shame?

Sadly, I don’t get a chance to re-read books that often anymore. There are just too many books on my TBR list! Of course, that is absolutely no excuse. As Gail Carson Levine once said, “There’s nothing wrong with reading a book you love over and over. When you do, the words get inside you, become a part of you, in a way that words in a book you’ve only read once can’t.” And I definitely agree with her.

Some of the many series that I devoured over and over again as a child was (obviously) Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling, the Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz and the Hardy Boys series by Franklin W. Dixon. I can come up with at least half a dozen more, but I think I need to stop right there before I spiral out of control.

Sloth

What book have you neglected reading due to laziness?

Ooh, this is an easy one: Telex from Cuba by Rachel Kushner. I was supposed to read it during the summer before my freshman year of college. It was assigned reading for the entire first-year class and we were supposed to write a paper about it and turn it in towards the end of the summer. I still turned in a paper, but it was probably the worst paper I’ve ever written. The book was supposed to be a way to bond the first-year class together. Whoops. No bonding for me. Luckily, I still managed to make friends. So all hope was not lost.

The second book I must mention, is A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving. It was also another assigned summer reading, this time for my AP English class during my junior year of high school. That teacher was incredibly frightening, but apparently not enough for me to get through that book.

Pride

What book do you talk about most in order to sound like an intellectual reader?

Ha! I have no shame. That’s not true… I studiously avoid mentioning any romance books. In fact, I didn’t even start shelving them on Goodreads and Leafmarks until recently (though I still typically don’t rate them). I’m aware that I am not an intellectual reader. I read for pure escape and enjoyment, and I don’t feel the need to impress people with my reading choices. In fact, Orson Scott Card sums up perfectly what I read and why, and this is what he has to say: “I think that most of us, anyway, read these stories that we know are not ‘true’ because we’re hungry for another kind of truth: the mythic truth about human nature in general, the particular truth about those life-communities that define our own identity, and the most specific truth of all: our own self-story. Fiction, because it is not about someone who lived in the real world, always has the possibility of being about oneself.”

I read to learn more about myself, and to connect to other people, real or otherwise. It has nothing to do with sounding or being intellectual.

Lust

What traits do you find attractive in male or female characters?

I love to read about strong and intelligent women (or girls) who respect themselves and know how to make their own decisions without needing to be defined by the men around them. Examples would include Yelena (Poison Study), Hermione (Harry Potter) and Mercy (Moon Called).

For male characters, I really appreciate thoughtful and intelligent men. Especially those who value family (in whatever form, whether it is by blood or by choice). The two male characters that immediately popped into my mind was Sean Kendrick (Scorpio Races) and Noah (Pushing the Limits).

Envy

What book would you most like to receive as a gift?

I distinctly remember standing in line to receive Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire when I was living in Singapore. And they asked me if I wanted the children’s edition or the adult edition. Obviously, I was young so I picked the children’s edition. But the adult cover was so cool! I would love to be able to get that book, as well any other adult editions that were printed for the other books in the series.


And that’s it! If you are reading this and haven’t done this tag yet, consider yourself tagged. Leave me a link down below so that I can check it out :).

3 thoughts on “The Time I Thought About My Sins

  1. Fun post! 🙂 My cheapest book would have to be the ones bought from a charity shop for 50p, there are loads, although I got a great deal on Neverwhere for 25p, which I was so pleased with. (Also a huge Neil Gaiman fan although I haven’t read the Sandman comics)

    Most expensive book is a 1901 edition of Cyrano de Bergerac (my favourite book) that my grandfather got me. It feels so special to read it, the paper is so thick, and it smells incredible 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

