The Time I Discussed My November Wrap-Up

Last month, I read a whopping 22 books! I am incredibly impressed with myself. Granted, some of them were graphic novels and others were novellas in a series but I still think that’s a huge number. Twelve were full length books, five were graphic novels and the last five were novellas and short story collections.


1. Seventh Grave and No Body by Darynda Jones

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I gave it four stars on Goodreads. It is the 7th installment in the Charley Davidson series. It wasn’t my favorite. I felt like this book was mostly a set-up for the upcoming release. But it had the classic Charley wit and sarcasm, and that’s usually all I’m looking for.

2. Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Own Autobiography

I gave it 5 stars and you can check out my review where I go into a little more detail.

Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Own Autobiography

3. Life in Motion: An Unlikely Ballerina by Misty Copeland

She is the only African-American soloist at the American Ballet Theatre and is considered to be a prodigy since she only started ballet at the age of 13. I thought her story was interesting, and I was glad to get a chance to understand her background and her love for dance. I would love to be able to see her perform one day. I gave her book 4.5 stars.

4. A Time to Dance by Padma Venkatraman

It was a beautiful story written in lyrical verse about a South Indian girl named Veda who loves to dance (Bharatanatyam). She ends up in an accident where she loses her leg and has to wear a prosthetic. Veda loves dance too much to give it up, so the book explores her love for dance and the journey she takes to both physically and spiritually be able to dance again. This was a really quick read and I really enjoyed it. It also brought back some lovely memories of my dancing days, so I gave it 5 stars.

5. The Safe-Keeper’s Secret by Sharon Shinn

I gave this book 4 stars, and you can check out my Goodreads review for a little more detail.

6. Saga, Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan

I loved this one, and I gave it 5 stars. This is only the second graphic novel series I have ever picked up and I’m just kicking myself for not having explored this genre sooner. I will be posting a review of this volume (followed by volumes 2 and 3) on this blog, so keep an eye out!

7. The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1 by Kieron Gillen

I gave this graphic novel 3.5 stars, and you can check out my review for more details.

8. Strong Female Protagonist Book One by Brennan Lee Mulligan

I gave this book 3 stars, and you can check out my review for an in-depth discussion.

dff14579aeb26ca9f4130276421a3422_large

9. Fables: 1001 Nights of Snowfall by Bill Willingham

I gave this collection of short stories 4 stars. I really enjoyed being able to learn the backstories of many prominent Fables characters. It was also really neat to be able to see all the different illustration styles.

10. Jack of Fables, Vol. 1: The [Nearly] Great Escape by Bill Willingham

I gave this graphic novel 2.5 stars. I’m not a huge fan of Jack, so I wasn’t entirely sure why he was the one to get his own spin-off series. It was interesting enough, and I will keep reading them since he is relevant to the overall Fables story arc.

11. The Emperor’s Edge by Lindsay Buroker

This series is AMAZING. I gave this book 4 stars. The plot was the only thing that prevented me from giving this a full 5 stars. I will be doing an in-depth review on the entire series soon, until then you can check out my Goodreads review. I’m so glad Ellen from Quest Reviews recommended this to me! It’s currently free in Kindle format on Amazon (and on iTunes as an ebook).

12. Shadows Over Innocence by Lindsay Buroker

This is the prequel to the entire series but shouldn’t be read until after finishing the first book. I gave this 3.5 stars.

13. Ice Cracker II: And Other Short Stories by Lindsay Buroker

This collection contains 3 short stories called Ice Cracker II, Through Fire Distilled and The Frozen Water Trade. I gave this collection 3.5 stars.

14. Dark Currents by Lindsay Buroker

This is the second book in The Emperor’s Edge series. The plot still wasn’t the most engaging, but the characters were awesome so this book got 5 stars.

15. The Assassin’s Curse by Lindsay Buroker

Another short story in the series and I gave it 3 stars on Goodreads.

16. Deadly Games by Lindsay Buroker

The third book in The Emperor’s Edge series. I loved this installment and gave it 5 stars. Check out my Goodreads review for a little more detail.

17. Conspiracy by Lindsay Buroker

The fourth book in The Emperor’s Edge series. It was another 5 star read and here is my Goodreads review.

18. Blood and Betrayal by Lindsay Buroker

This was also a 5 star read (if you can’t tell, I really love this series). It is the fifth book and here is my brief Goodreads review.

19. Beneath the Surface by Lindsay Buroker

This is more of a novella and is set between books 5 and 6. It is, however, really important to read this in its intended order since some very important events occur that affect the next book. This also was a 5 star read and here is my short Goodreads review.

20. Forged in Blood I by Lindsay Buroker

This is the first half of the 2 book finale that will wrap up this series. Another amazing book, I gave it 5 stars and here is my Goodreads review.

21. Forged in Blood II by Lindsay Buroker

This last installment wraps up the entire story arc. It was a wonderful journey with the most amazing characters. I also gave this book 5 stars and here is my very short Goodreads review. Like I mentioned earlier, I will be doing an in-depth review on the entire series very soon. So stay tuned!

22. Solstice Day Gifts by Lindsay Buroker

And last but not least, we have another short story set after the seventh book in The Emperor’s Edge series. I also gave this one 5 stars.


And there you have it! These are all the books that I read this month. I’m really excited to think about my December TBR. I will have a post on that coming up this week as well :). Let me know what your favorite November read was in the comments below.

Have a wonderful week everyone!

4 thoughts on “The Time I Discussed My November Wrap-Up

  1. WOW! 22 books in a month is spectacular! I loved seeing all the love for the Emperor’s Edge series. I can’t tell you (okay, I can) how happy it makes me that you loved the series, and now other people are picking up the books because of your reviews! I’m so looking forward to reading your breakdown of the entire series!

    Also, graphic novels. I’ve never picked one up (not counting Cardcaptor Sakura manga) but I’m curious now. Would Saga be a good place to start?

    Like

    • Thank you! Haha, I am glad that you pushed me to read them. I do have this automatic assumption that self-published books aren’t as good as those that are ‘regularly’ published. So I was glad to have been given this opportunity to challenge those assumptions.

      As for graphic novels, there are some excellent ones out there! Saga is definitely a great place to start. There are 3 volumes out, and the 4th will be released later in the month. It’s not as overwhelming of a series to tackle (when compared to something like Fables). I will warn you that these are all adult graphic novels. I’ve never had a problem reading adult books and reading adult scenes, but it is one thing to read them and another to see it illustrated. It’s just a little jolt to the system, and then you readjust :P.

      Like

  2. ACK! Saga. I read all 18 issues in one sitting last weekend. I don’t quite know what to say. I’m verklempt. Also, 22 books?! Girl, you on fire! I’m jealous. I like how eclectic your selections are. I’m kinda glad you found me on Goodreads. 🙂

    Like

    • Haha, I love that word! I’m going to have to work it into my conversations :P.

      Thank you! November was quite a good month for me. And I’m glad I found you on Goodreads too! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

